Herald Publications beat Prudent Media, 4-0 in the final of the Inter-Media nine-a-side football tournament at the Athletic Stadium, Bambolim, on Wednesday.

The tournament was organised by the Sports Journalists Association of Goa (SJAG) in collaboration with Goa Football Development Council (GFDC) and Sports Authority of Goa (SAG).

A fine hat-trick by Allan D’Cruz and a goal by Anil Kalekar helped them secure the winner’s trophy. Herald Publication began the play on an impressive note as they dictated pace from the middle. They moved the ball from end to end and displayed great composure keeping possession of the ball for long spells. From the Prudent Media side, the forward line made attempts to penetrate the rival defense but the midfielders from Herald Publication foiled their plan and completely dominated the first half proceeding.

In an exhibition match played after the final, GFDC defeated Goa Union of Journalists (GUJ), 2-1. The Chief Guest, Minister of Waste Management, Science and Technology, Port and Rural Development of Goa Michael Lobo and GFDC Member Secretary, Aleixo da Costa played in the exhibition match for GFDC. The goal-scorers for GFDC were Shashank Ashwekar and Franklyn Roncon. While Kishor Kamat pulled one back for GUJ.

While addressing the media Lobo expressed immense happiness over being invited to participate in the exhibition match.

“I am very happy to be part of the exhibition match. No doubt GFDC had good players good but GUJ gave a good fight. I would also like to congratulate Herald who has scored four goals in the final. One should remember that we can be healthy through some form of activity or sports. Various sicknesses are caused due to stress, work and eating habits. If there is no form of activity like walking or gym. Henceforth I too will begin to play often. I would like to request office goers to not only concentrate on work and not fitness. If one wants to live longer you need to be fit, do some sort of exercise or play some sport,” said Lobo.

Individual prizes were awarded in the various categories such as the Best Goalkeeper: Jose Fernandes (Herald Publication), Best Defender: Rajesh Naik (Prudent Media), Best Midfielder: Saideep Kadam (Prudent Media), Best Forward: Minguel Carvalho (Herald Publication) and the Outstanding Player of the Final was awarded to Allan D’Cruz.

The SJAG President, Mahesh Gaonkar; SJAG Vice- President, Kenzil Rodrigues; SJAG Secretary, Sachin Korde and SJAG Organising Secretary, Glenn Costa were also present at the function.